MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

THE STATE OF TEXAS

THE COUNTY OF McLENNAN

McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees of McLennan Community College met for a Regular Meeting by telephonic meeting via a toll-free phone number (Zoom), on Tuesday, September 29, 2020, at 5:00 p.m. Those present were: Ms. Candi Allen, President, Support Staff Advisory Committee; Dr. Stephen Benson, Vice President, Finance and Administration; Ms. Kandice Blades, Vice President, Support Staff Advisory Committee; Dr. Drew Canham, Vice President, Student Success; Ms. Mikken Canham, Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Ms. Kristen Cook, Information Desk and Electronic Resource Librarian, Library Services; Ms. Lisa Elliott, Director, Marketing and Communication; Dr. Elaine Fagner, Professor, Geology; Ms. Faith Glatter, NISOD Winner and Records Assistant in Continuing Education; Dr. Fred Hills, Vice President, Instruction; Mr. Carl Hoover, Waco Tribune Herald; Mr. Jeremy Lindley, Technology Specialist; Mr. Phil McCleery, College Attorney; Dr. Johnette McKown, President; Ms. Becky Parker, Vice President, Faculty Council; Mr. Frank Patterson, Emergency & Risk Management Coordinator; Ms. Kim Patterson, Executive Director, MCC Foundation; Ms. Lesley Plemons, NISOD Winner and Program Director for Health Information Technology; Dr. Phil Rhodes, Vice President, Research, Effectiveness, and Information Technology; Mr. Edgar Sierra, NISOD Winner and Adjunct Instructor of Applied Voice; Mr. Brad Turner, President, Faculty Council; Ms. Paula Unger, Professor of Sociology; Nick Webb, Piper Teaching Award Nominee, NISOD Winner and Professor of English; Ms. Laura Wichman, NISOD Winner and Director of Institutional Research; Mr. Bryant Windham, Vice Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Mr. Clayton Williams, Chief of Police; and members of the Board of Trustees as follows:

> Ms. Pauline Chavez Mr. K. Paul Holt, Chairman Mr. Doug McDurham, Secretary Mr. Earl Stinnett, Sr., Vice-Chairman Mr. Ricky Turman Ms. Geneva Watley

Absent:

Dr. Elizabeth Palacios

Mr. Holt, Chairman of the Board, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Dr. McKown introduced the guests present on the Zoom call for the Board Meeting.

Under the agenda item *Public Comments/Audience Participation*, Mr. McDurham announced that there were no emails received for public comment.

Dr. McKown introduced Ms. Kim Patterson who recognized the National Institute of Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) award winners and Minnie Steven Piper Professor Nominee. The recipients of the

NISOD award were: Dr. John Spano, Ms. Jessica Shelton, Dr. Anthony LaStrape, Ms. Tina Ellette, and Ms. Cheryl Brooks. The Minnie Steven Piper Professor Nominee this year is Dr. Alex Shiu. Ms. Paula Unger presented the Student Success Presentation on the Title V Grant. (D.F. V—450)

Ms. Laura Wichman presented the Data Moment on the *Great Colleges to Work For* survey results. (D.F. V—451)

Dr. McKown presented the following Consent Agenda Items for Board approval (D.F. V-452):

- 1) Consideration of and Approval of Minutes for August 25, 2020
- 2) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase of Library Subscriptions and eBooks from EBSCO
- 3) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase of Library Subscriptions and eBooks from PROQUEST
- 4) Consideration of and Approval of Second Part of Ellucian Agreement
- 5) Consideration of and Approval of request by KGI Wireless, Inc. as agent for Verizon, Inc., for an underground easement to run conduit to their tower from College Drive; and Approval for the President to execute a deed to the easement subject to approval of the form of the easement by the President and College attorney
- 6) Consideration of and Approval of Accepting Transfer of Hand Sanitizer from the McLennan Community College Foundation
- 7) Appointment of Personnel
 - Advising Specialist, Student Support Services
 - Technology Helpdesk Specialist

Mr. Turman moved to approve the Consent Agenda Items as presented. Ms. Watley seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Stephen Benson presented the financial report for August 2020. (D.F. V—453)

Mr. Stinnett moved to approve the financial report for August 2020 as presented. Mr. McDurham seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Phil Rhodes presented information on the Telecommunications Provider Contract. (D.F. V-454)

Mr. McDurham moved to approve a three-year contract with Grande Communications as the College's telecommunications provider in the amount of \$123,390.00. Mr. Turman seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. McKown led a discussion on the College's response to the Coronavirus, Update on Return to Campus, and the Road Ahead.

Dr. McKown and Mr. Holt gave a legislative update.

Under the President's Report, President, Dr. McKown reported:

- Seminar coming up. North Texas Community College equity
- Friday, Foundation Golf Tournament (Lunch 11-1:30)
- ACCT

- October 30
- Scholar day
- 300 x 300 webpage

The next Board Meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, October 27, 2020, meeting at 5:00 p.m.

At 6:14 p.m., Mr. Holt announced that the Board wished to meet under Closed Session.

At 6:34 p.m. Mr. Holt reconvened in Open Session and announced that no action had taken place during the Closed Session.

With no further business, the regular meeting was adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Lindsey Vanek, Assistant Secretary Board of Trustees

MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF McLENNAN COMMUNITY COLLEGE

THE STATE OF TEXAS

THE COUNTY OF McLENNAN

MCLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees of McLennan Community College met for a special meeting by telephonic meeting via a toll-free phone number (Zoom), on Tuesday, September 29, 2020, directly following the regular board meeting. Those present were: Dr. Stephen Benson, Vice President, Finance and Administration; Dr. Drew Canham, Vice President, Student Success; Ms. Lisa Elliott, Director, Marketing and Communications; Dr. Martha Ellis, Guest; Dr. Fred Hills, Vice President, Instruction; Mr. Carl Hoover, Waco Trib; Mr. Phil McCleery, College Attorney; Dr. Johnette McKown, President; Dr. Phil Rhodes, Vice President, Research, Effectiveness, and IT; Mr. Clayton Williams, Chief of Police; and members of the Board of Trustees as follows

Ms. Pauline Chavez Mr. K. Paul Holt, Chairman Mr. Doug McDurham, Secretary Mr. Bob Sheehy, Jr. Mr. Earl Stinnett, Sr., Vice-Chairman Mr. Ricky Turman Ms. Geneva Watley Absent:

Dr. Elizabeth Palacios

Mr. K. Paul Holt, Chairman of the Board, called the special meeting to order at 6:36 p.m.

Dr. McKown introduced the guests at the meeting.

At 5:54 p.m., the Board met in Closed Session. No action was taken.

Dr. Martha Ellis led the Board in a discussion of their Self-Evaluation.

With no further business, the special meeting was adjourned at 7:03 p.m.

Lindsey Vanek Assistant Secretary, Board of Trustees