Dropping Classes/Withdrawal from Classes or College

When and How to Drop/Withdraw from classes:

Please note: If you receive financial assistance, you should contact the Office of Financial Aid before dropping/withdrawing from a class or the college to determine exactly how your financial aid will be affected by the reduction in hours. 

Time Frame


Prior to First Class Day

Drop utilizing Self-Service (Student Planning)

First Class Day - Class Change Period Drop utilizing Self-Service (Student Planning)
After Class Change Period - Census Date

Submit a Change in Schedule form to Records and Registration.

After Census Date - Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Email your professor a request to be withdrawn and the reason.


Are there consequences of dropping or withdrawing from classes?

Yes, several consequences can occur when dropping classes. 

Tuition/Fees Owed -

Dropping classes after the first day of class can result in a student owing a balance for forfeiture fees (see note below). It is the student's responsibility to be aware of their schedule and any classes that have been registered for a specified term and the student's responsibility to remove themselves from classes prior to the first day of class if they are unable to pay tuition and fees.

Note: Forfeiture fees are assessed when courses are dropped after the Class Change period.

Financial Aid -

A student's Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) can be negatively affected by dropping classes after the Financial Aid census date. In addition, a complete withdrawal can result in students owing money back to the school for calculated Return to Title IV funds disbursed for the semester. There is no appeal for this fee assessed.

If you drop or are dropped before you have completed 60 percent of the semester (10 weeks into the Fall semester of 3 weeks into the Summer semester) or if you are dropped for non-attendance during the entire semester, federal law requires that you repay part of your financial aid.

6 Drop Provisions -

Section 51.907 of the Texas Education Code, enacted by the state of Texas during spring 2007, applies to students who enroll in a public institution of higher education as a first time freshman in fall 2007 or later.

Based on this law, MCC or any other Texas Public institution of higher education may not permit a student to drop more than six courses during their undergraduate career. All courses dropped after the census date are included in the six-course limit unless (1) the student withdraws from all courses or (2) the drop is an approved drop exemption.

If you're affected by this law and plan to attend another institution of higher education, you should become familiar with that institution’s policies on dropping courses.


Refunds for Dropped Classes

When a student in a credit course withdraws from the college or drops a course, tuition and mandatory fees will be refunded according to this policy:



Prior to the first class day - 100 percent refund

During the first and second class days - 70 percent refund

No refund on or after the third class day.


Summer Terms

Prior to the first class day - 100 percent refund

During the first five class days - 70 percent refund

During the sixth and seventh class days - 25 percent refund

No refund after the seventh class day.


Fall & Spring Semesters

Prior to the first class day - 100 percent refund

During the first fifteen class days - 70 percent refund

During the sixteenth through twentieth class days - 25 percent refund

No refund after the twentieth class day.


NOTE: The term "class day" refers to the number of calendar days classes have been in session. "Mandatory fees" include General Services Fee, Facilities Fee, and Lab Fees. "Optional fees" are non-refundable.

Tuition refunds apply only to that portion of a student's semester hour enrollment for which tuition has been charged and payment received. Tuition and fees paid directly to the college by a sponsor, donor or scholarship will be refunded to the source, rather than directly to the student.